Workflow Settings

The Workflow Settings page is the command center for each Workflow. From here, you can access all the settings, actions, and tools you need to manage a Workflow.

The settings screen is like the home page for each Workflow: it shows all the associations and relationships between your Workflow and its actions, triggers, and data tables.

screen readers look here

Want to adjust the days a Workflow is scheduled to run? Want to change how a Workflow is set up and add a new action? Want to browse the data tables associated with a Workflow? The Workflow settings screen is the launch pad for all these things.

How to get to the Workflow Settings screen

Access the Workflow Settings page by selecting Workflows from the top navigation bar at any time. From there, select a Workflow, then select

screen readers look here

Update, modify, or improve your Workflow

The Workflow Settings screen has expandable categories for different parts of a Workflow. Select to expand a section and make changes.

Change the name, description, category, or owner

You can add or edit basic information in the Name & Description section. This basic information is used to identify and distinguish this Workflow from another.

screen readers look here
  • Name: The name of the Workflow. The name typically describes the function, like “Close Contract” or “Create Reports for New Customers”. If you use a name that’s already in use, a (1) is added.
  • Description: The description of the Workflow, such as what it does or how it should be used. A good description makes a big difference!
  • Category: You or your company can use categories to organize Workflows. One team or department could have their own category, such as “HR” or “Ghost Busters”. Categories help organize Workflows and make them easier to find and manage.
  • Owner: The owner of the Workflow has additional responsibilities or capabilities. An owner typically manages day to day use of the Workflow, such as starting it manually or addressing issues.

For more specifics on creating a Workflow, check out our Workflow article.

Lay out, build, and edit actions

Work with the tasks and actions for your Workflow, whether you’re automating a new process or updating an existing one, from the Actions section.

screen readers look here

If you have actions already added, you’ll see how many steps there are in the Workflow. You can modify the Workflow’s actions by selecting the button.

If you haven’t added any actions, select Add an Action and jump straight to the actions screen. If you’re building a Workflow for the first time, review the Automate and Build a Workflow guide to go get started with basic concepts.

Add or edit data tables and predictive models

Data tables store information from each Workflow instance. All Workflows have their own Master Data Table which is associated and added when the Workflow is first created.

If you add an action to the Workflow that uses a unique data table, when you add the data table ID into the action, it automatically shows up in the data tables for that Workflow.

You can also access any table that’s referenced in your Workflow—if you add an action to the Workflow that references a data table, the table shows up here.

screen readers look here

If you haven’t added any tables, just the Master Data Table will appear, select Add a Data Table to view a list of table for your team. To add a predictive model, select Add a Predictive Model. Learn more in our predictive models article.

Add or edit Helper Workflows

Access or add any Helper Workflows for your Workflow here. A Helper Workflow is any Workflow that starts or is started by this Workflow.

screen readers look here

Select an existing Helper Workflow to open the Workflow Settings for it, or select Add a Helper Workflow to add a new one.

How to add a new Helper Workflow

After you select Add a Helper Workflow, you are redirected to the Workflows page. From this page:

  1. Select the Workflow you want to associate
  2. Select
  3. Select at the top of the page and select Parent Processes
  4. Enter in or select the name of the Workflow you want to add this Workflow to.
  5. Return to the original Workflow Settings page to see the newly associated Helper Workflow.

Add or edit scheduled, webform, or other triggers

You can add new triggers to your Workflow, or configure any triggers already associated with it. To edit an existing trigger, select it to make any changes in a new window.

screen readers look here

To add a new trigger, select Add a Trigger. For information on setting up a specific trigger, the trigger topic has guides for each available trigger. After you have added a new trigger, it will show up automatically on the Workflow Settings screen here.

💡Tip: By default, all new Workflows can be started manually and will show here when you make a new Workflow. You can disable this in Permissions in the top menu.

Add data available in each instance

If you add a Workflow level fields, the data is available for every instance and for every action. Workflow level fields are added to the entire Workflow, rather than a specific task.

If you have information that is frequently used through a Workflow, you can create fields here that can be referenced throughout each Workflow instance.

Manage your Workflow data

Industry regulations or internal policies may require you to retain data for a minimum period of time, or delete data after a set amount of time. Catalytic has built in data retention features to help you meet information governance requirements.

You can apply a scheduled data retention policy to automatically delete old data. Data retention policies are applied per Workflow from the Workflow settings page in the Security section.

To learn more, check out the Data retention & information governance article.

Archive a Workflow

If a Workflow is no longer needed, you can archive it to prevent it from appearing in search or in team member’s Workflows page. Archiving a Workflow will prevent any new instances from being started.

If you’re considering archiving a Workflow for the first time, check the archive a Workflow article for more details.

Change advanced Workflow settings

Adjust advanced settings for a Workflow by selecting from the top of the Workflow Settings page.

  • Permissions: Adjust Workflow permissions and settings from the permissions screen. You can set who can find and edit the process and assign default permissions for the processes fields. You can also set whether or not the process can be started manually.
  • Parent Processes: You can associate this Workflow as a helper to another Workflow by selecting parent processes. If you select a parent process for the Workflow you’re working in, your current Workflow will appear as a Helper Workflow in the Helper Workflow section of the parent Workflow.
  • Create Custom Action: If you consistently use the same series of actions, like resizing and renaming an image, you can turn it into a single reusable action, and even define your own inputs and outputs. Custom actions are available to your entire team, and added right into the action picker. Check the custom actions article to learn more.