Set the confidentiality of all fields in a Workflow

Set permissions on fields to increase the security of sensitive information. You can set the default permission level within a Workflow for all fields added in the future, including those that are added by automated tasks during an instance.

For example, if you鈥檙e making a Workflow that processes confidential information, you can set the default permissions for the Workflow before you add actions and save time not changing each field individually.

Overview of field permission levels
  • Public: Field values are visible to anyone interacting with this instance
  • Internal: Field values are hidden from non-team members
  • Confidential: Field values are hidden from everyone except admins and designated users
  • Highly Confidential: Field values are hidden from everyone except designated users. Examples may include social security numbers or salary information.

How to set default field permissions for a Workflow

  1. Select Workflows from the top navigation bar.
  2. Select a Workflow, this will open the Workflow detail page.
  3. Select in the upper-right corner to get to the Workflow Builder page.
  4. Select the in the top right, and select Settings
  5. Scroll down to the Security section, and click to expand it.

    screen readers look here
    This is an example of the Workflow permissions screen
  6. Set the Default Field Permission level, then if necessary, select the users who should have access to view the field.

How to apply field permissions retroactively

You can use the Apply permissions retroactively toggle to change the field permissions for all fields for every instance that has ever run, even if it has completed. This will only set default permissions for fields that did not have a specific field permission applied within the field鈥檚 permission.

鈿狅笍 Heads-up: This does not apply to any draft versions of a Workflow. Only data from the published Workflow version is updated.

  1. Select Workflows from the top navigation bar.
  2. Select a Workflow, this will open the Workflow detail page.
  3. Select in the upper-right corner to get to the Workflow Builder page.
  4. Select the in the top right, and select Settings
  5. Scroll down to the Security section, and click to expand it.
  6. Set the Default Field Permission level you wish to apply to all past fields.
  7. Select
screen readers look here
How to retroactively apply field permissions to a single field

You can change the field permissions in a Workflow and automatically change the permissions for that field for every instance that has ever run, even if it has completed.

screen readers look here

Toggle on Apply permissions retroactively to apply a default permission level to all fields in all active or completed instances of this Workflow.