Organize Workflows with workspaces

Workspaces are collections of Workflows, and make it easier to organize and manage your work—especially on larger teams. Use workspaces to create collections based on department, team, function, or customer. Think of a workspace like a folder you can store Workflows in.

screen readers look here

Workspaces and Workflow permissions

Workspaces are accessible and visible to all users, but Workspaces do not affect the permissions or visibility of any Workflows assigned to them. Workflow visibility is set at the Workflow level, and is unaffected by workspace association.

Example
  • Marek has a “Finance” workspace he uses for his team. He just created a new Workflow that handles confidential payroll data, and set the Workflow permissions so only he and Erika can view or edit it. To help keep his Workflows organized, he adds it to the Finance workspace. When he or Erika view the workspace, they’ll see the private Workflow—but any other user viewing the workspace will not.

For more information on Workflow permissions, see How to change Workflow permissions

Organize your Workflows and workspaces

You can use and organize your workspaces and Workflows just like you would folders and files on your computer. Workspaces support nesting.

screen readers look here
For example, you can create a "Users" workspace, then have everyone in your team create their own personal workspace.

Create a workspace

Any user can create a workspace from the Workflow page. You can even create workspaces inside of other workspaces.

  1. From the Workflows page or inside any workspace, select in the top right and select Create workspace.

    screen readers look here
  2. Enter a Workspace Name and Description. These can be changed at any time.
  3. Select

💡   Tip: Use Markdown to format the description with bold, italics, links, images, headers, and more. The content will appear at the top of the Workspace, and is visible to all users.

Move a single workspace or Workflow

  1. From the Workflows page or inside any workspace, select on any workspace or Workflow, and select Move.
  2. Select the workspace you wish to move the item to from the Choose workspace list.
  3. Select
note
  • To move an item out of a workspace and back to the default team workspace, set and leave Choose workspace blank.

Move multiple workspaces or Workflows

You can move multiple items at once using Add Items on the destination workspace. For example, to move multiple items into a “To Review” workspace, select Add Items on that workspace.

  1. From the Workflows page or inside any workspace, select on the destination workspace and select Add Items.
  2. Select the workspaces or Workflows you wish to move the item to from the Choose Workflows to add or Choose workspaces to add lists.
  3. Select

Remove and delete a workspace

You can move delete workspaces like deleting a folder. Deleting a workspace will not delete any items inside the workspace. Any time you remove a workspace, the items inside it are moved back to the default team workspace. Catalytic does not delete Workflows or workspaces if their parent workspace is removed.

  1. From the Workflows page or inside any workspace, select on the workspace or top right of the page and select Remove Workspace.
  2. Confirm the change, and select OK.

Quickly access your most common workspaces

The fastest way to jump back to your favorite or most commonly used workspaces is using a bookmark in your web browser. When inside your workspace, bookmark the current URL. In the future, you’ll be able to click that bookmark to jump straight back to the workspace.

screen readers look here

Get help with a problem or question

If something’s not working as expected, or you’re looking for suggestions, check through the options below.

Why is my Workflow not appearing when I search or filter a workspace?

The filter currently filters inside the current workspace.

screen readers look here

If the Workflow you’re looking for is in another workspace, you need to be inside that workspace to find it in the filter.

I removed a workspace and can’t find any of the things I had inside it, are they gone?

No, any time you remove a workspace, the items inside it are moved back to the default team workspace. Catalytic does not delete Workflows or workspaces if their parent workspace is removed.

Select Workflows from the top navigation bar to view the default team workspace.

Can other users see my workspaces and Workflows?

Workspaces are accessible and visible to all users, but Workspaces do not affect the permissions or visibility of any Workflows assigned to them. Workflow visibility is set at the Workflow level, and is unaffected by workspace association.

For example, if you have a private Workflow you have not shared with any other users, you can still safely put it inside a workspace without affecting visibility.

For more information on Workflow permissions, see How to change Workflow permissions

Sorry about that. What was the most unhelpful part?









Thanks for your feedback

We update the Help Center daily, so expect changes soon.

Link Copied

Paste this URL anywhere to link straight to the section.

Need more help?

If you're signed in to Catalytic Community, you can ask other users a question. You'll be redirected to Community where you can add more info.