Export and Import a Workflow

You can export a Workflow and create backups, or easily import and migrate Workflows from one team to another. Though the backup includes all the important settings, configurations, and associated objects, not all data is included:

A Workflow export includes:

  • All steps and step configurations.
  • Any data tables or files referenced in the process.
  • All associated subprocesses, and the steps, data tables, and files referenced in each.
  • Any custom actions.

A Workflow export does not include:

  • Any integrations or integrations connections associated with the Workflow.
  • Any users or groups assigned in Assign to field.
  • Any run or instances data, or master data table data.
  • Any application table data. For example, if a process references the user application table, that table is not carried over on import.

鈿狅笍 Heads-up: Be sure to fully test and reconfigure your imported Workflows before using them in a production environment. For example, If your Workflow includes any Assign task to a person actions, you must re-select the users these tasks are assigned to.

An exported Workflow is saved to your computer as a .catalytic file, which can be optionally password protected. A password protected backup cannot be accessed or imported without the password.

screen readers look here

On import, the Workflow is set to default permissions. Fields retain any field level permissions, such as a highly confidential or public.

Permission requirements for exporting

To export, a user must have have view or read permissions on the primary Workflow, and must have view or read access to any associated subprocesses, data tables, and files.

screen readers look here

If the user lacks permission on any object, there will be an alert with the object ID during export. The alert lists the specific process ID, data table ID, or file ID.

How to export a Workflow

Safari browser bar
  1. From the bottom of the Workflow Settings page, expand the Export this Workflow section.
  2. To require a password to access or import the Workflow, enable Password protect file and enter a password.
  3. Select Export Workflow, then Download.

How to import a Workflow

To import a Workflow, first start creating a new Workflow, then upload a .catalytic file.

  1. From any page, select Workflows from the top navigation bar.
  2. Select .
  3. Select Import Template

    screen readers look here
  4. Drag and drop or select the .catalytic file
  5. If necessary, enter the password.
  6. Select Next: Configure the Workflow

馃挕Tip: During import, you can customize the imported Workflow鈥檚 name, description, category, and owner by filling in those fields in the Name & Description section. If left blank, the imported Workflow will retain whatever was in the backup.

More details on exporting and importing

Application tables are not exported

Application tables, like the Process or User application table, are not included in the export. If an process references this table, on import it will reference the same, respective table on the new team.

For example, if a Workflow references Team A鈥檚 User Application Table for team, then is exported and imported onto Team B, it will reference Team B鈥檚 User Application Table.

Triggers and predictive models are not copied over

If your process is started by a trigger, the trigger is not copied over. On import, if an action references a trigger field, that reference stays intact even though the trigger may not exist on the new team.

For example, if you import a Workflow that used to have a trigger, then add a trigger for the new Workflow with the same configuration as before, the references would work. Otherwise the field references must be updated for the new trigger.