Workflow: Update a User

🕙  2 minute read

Use this action to edit basic information about a user on a team, or change the notification preferences for the user.

Use case

Frequently, the Workflow: Update a user action is used to modify either the full name or email of the user. In addition, the action can alter the notification preferences for a user.

How to configure this action

The User name is used to identify the correct user and the other fields are optional and used to update the user information. If the username is not found, a fix task is assigned.

Fields for this action

  • User name

    • The username or email of the user to update, as text or in {{field-name}} format
  • Full name

    • The first, middle and last name of the user, as text or in {{field-name}} format
    • If left blank, the current value will be unchanged
  • New email

    • The new email address of the user, as text or in {{field-name}} format
    • If left blank, the current value will be unchanged
  • Task assignment notification preferences

    • Enter EMAIL to set this notification preference to email
    • Enter UNSUBSCRIBE to turn this notification preference off
    • If left blank, the current value will be unchanged
  • Reminder assignment notification preferences

    • Enter EMAIL to set this notification preference to email
    • Enter UNSUBSCRIBE to turn this notification preference off
    • If left blank, the current value will be unchanged
  • Process completion assignment notification preferences

    • Enter EMAIL to set this notification preference to email
    • Enter UNSUBSCRIBE to turn this notification preference off
    • If left blank, the current value will be unchanged
  • Daily summary notification preferences

    • Enter EMAIL to set this notification preference to email
    • Enter UNSUBSCRIBE to turn this notification preference off
    • If left blank, the current value will be unchanged
  • Weekly summary notification preferences

    • Enter EMAIL to set this notification preference to email
    • Enter UNSUBSCRIBE to turn this notification preference off
    • If left blank, the current value will be unchanged
  • Other notification preferences

    • Enter EMAIL to set this notification preference to email
    • Enter UNSUBSCRIBE to turn this notification preference off
    • If left blank, the current value will be unchanged
  • Output field name

    • Enter a name for the field in which the result should be saved.

What will this output?

The output of the instance will update the user information. The action will also return an output field with the status of the action. The name of the output field will be the Output status field name defined during configuration.

Output fields for this action

  • Output status field name

    • This field will return the status of the result. The status will either be:
      • Updated: If the user account was successfully update
      • Skipped - User is Deactivated: If the username provided for a deactivated account

Sorry about that. What was the most unhelpful part?









Thanks for your feedback

We update the Help Center daily, so expect changes soon.

Link Copied

Paste this URL anywhere to link straight to the section.

Need more help?

If you're signed in to Catalytic Community, you can ask other users a question. You'll be redirected to Community where you can add more info.