Workflow: Create a User

Use this action to add a new user to a Catalytic team without sending an invite.

Use case

This action is helpful to automatically add a user to a team. For example, an employee on-boarding process can add the user without an invite, with preconfigured settings and notification preferences.

How to configure this action

The action configuration can only be performed by admins and only admins will be able to start an instance of a Workflow that contains this action.

The onboarding process can be toggled on or off with this action, this will start or stop the default or custom onboarding process from starting for a user.

Fields for this action

  • Catalytic username

    • Enter the username of the new user
      • The user name may only contain lowercase alphanumeric characters without spaces and cannot start with a number (do not include the @ symbol at the start)
      • If a user with this username already exists in the team, a fix task will be created and you will be able to enter a new username
  • Full name

    • The full name of the new user
  • Email

    • The email address of the new user. If a user with the same email address already exists, the task will be marked complete without creating a new user
  • Task assignment notification preferences

    • Leave blank or enter EMAIL to set this notification preference to email
    • Enter UNSUBSCRIBE to turn this notification preference off
  • Reminder assignment notification preferences

    • Leave blank or enter EMAIL to set this notification preference to email
    • Enter UNSUBSCRIBE to turn this notification preference off
  • Process completion assignment notification preferences

    • Leave blank or enter EMAIL to set this notification preference to email
    • Enter UNSUBSCRIBE to turn this notification preference off
  • Daily summary notification preferences

    • Leave blank or enter EMAIL to set this notification preference to email
    • Enter UNSUBSCRIBE to turn this notification preference off
  • Weekly summary notification preferences

    • Leave blank or enter EMAIL to set this notification preference to email
    • Enter UNSUBSCRIBE to turn this notification preference off
  • Other notification preferences

    • Leave blank or enter EMAIL to set this notification preference to email
    • Enter UNSUBSCRIBE to turn this notification preference off
  • Run onboarding process

  • Select True or False from the drop down to enable or disable the preconfigured onboarding process.
    • Select True or leave blank to start the onboarding process for this user.
    • Select False to create the user without starting the process.
  • Output status field name

    • Enter a name for the field in which the result should be saved.

What will this output?

The output of the action will be a newly created user on the team. The action will also return an output field with the status of the action. The name of the output field will be the Output status field name defined during configuration.

Output fields for this action

  • Output status field name

    • This field will return the status of the result. The status will either be:
      • Created: If the user was successfully added
      • Skipped - Duplicate email: If the email provided was already in use for a current account