Change a user's role or editing permissions

馃暀聽聽1 minute read

Permissions are determined by a user鈥檚 Role and Individual Permission Settings.

Roles determine most day to day permissions, like deactivating a user or viewing confidential fields. You can change the role and default editing permissions from a user鈥檚 account profile.

screen readers look here

To learn more about permission basics, see Understanding permission levels in Catalytic

How to change a user鈥檚 role

All team members are able to view other team members profiles, but only admins are able to change a team members permission level.

  1. Open the menu in the top navigation bar, and select Team.
  2. Select the Members tab if it is not already selected.
  3. Select a user whose role you wish to change.
  4. Select in the top right and select Edit member.

    screen readers look here
  5. Set the User Role level.
  6. Select to save the result.
What is the difference between an admin and team member?

Only admin users have the following capabilities:

  • Workflows: Admins can view and edit any Workflow.
  • Instances: Admins can end an instance even when they are not the instance or Workflow owner.
  • Confidential Fields: Admins can view data for Confidential fields, but can only view data for Highly Confidential fields if specifically granted permission.
  • Integrations: Admins can create new and edit existing integrations.
  • Data Tables: Admins can view all data tables that are populated by instances.
  • Team Customization: Admins can customize branding of emails and webforms and block logins from unauthorized IP addresses.
  • Users: Admins can edit user profiles, deactivate users, and create other admin users.
  • Permissions: Admins can adjust the permissions of users and add other admins.
screen readers look here

How to set whether a user can build Workflows

The Workflow Editing setting can be used to completely disable a user from creating or editing Workflows. This can make the Catalytic experience and interface simpler for non-building users.

  1. Open the menu in the top navigation bar, and select Team.
  2. Select the Members tab if it is not already selected
  3. Select a user whose Workflow Editing permissions you wish to change
  4. Select in the top right and select Edit member.
  5. Set the desired Workflow Editing setting.
  6. All changes save automatically.