General Integration Information

Use Integrations to connect Catalytic with other systems. The more of your systems that you connect to Catalytic, the more automation can be applied to your work. Integrations can be set up by Admin users and are enabled per team.

screen readers look here

How integrations work

Integrations extend the functionality of Catalytic with your favorite apps and tools. When you add an integration, you unlock unique actions and triggers for your team. Admins can create integrations by logging in or associating apps or tools with Catalytic.

Each integration can have multiple connections. For example, if you integrate with Google, you can have different connections for different users or groups. A Workflow can then use different connections based on what it automates.

screen readers look here
This illustrates how integrations are added, and connections are added to those integrations. New connections and integrations can be added at any time.

How to create a new integration

Integrations can only be set up by Admin users and are enabled per team. Integrating with different apps and tools is simple, usually only requiring a login. Some integrations require more details, so check out the integration setup guide for the integration you鈥檙e working with.

The integrations screen will be empty if no integrations or connections have been added.

  1. Open the menu in the top navigation bar, and select Admin.
  2. Select Integrations at the bottom of the page.
  3. Select button in the top right corner
  4. Select the app or tool to connect, then select
  5. Fill out the connection details, and set the integration permissions if necessary
  6. Select
  7. For some integrations you鈥檒l be redirected to a login page. This is an industry standard for connecting systems.

Here鈥檚 what that process looks like:

Safari browser bar

馃挕Tip: Looking for an integration not on the list? Head to the Community to make a request or upvote a prior request.

How to create a new connection for an existing integration

If you already have a connection for an integration, you can add new connections from the integration鈥檚 detail page.

  1. Open the menu in the top navigation bar, and select Admin.
  2. Select Integrations at the bottom of the page.
  3. Select the integration you wish to add a new connection to.
  4. In the Add a Connection section at the bottom of the next page, select .
  5. Fill out the connection details, and set the integration permissions if necessary.
  6. Select .
  7. For some integrations you鈥檒l be redirected to a login page. This is an industry standard for connecting systems.
Safari browser bar

How to edit a connection

Integration connections can only be edited by the original creator. Any changes to a connection happen immediately, and may affect any processes that use the connection.

  1. Open the menu in the top navigation bar, and select Admin.
  2. Select Integrations at the bottom of the page.
  3. Select the integration you wish to view.
  4. At the bottom of the page, select on a connection you have permission to edit.

For more information on changing connection permissions, see the Integration Permissions article, or for an overview, check Understanding permission levels in Catalytic.

How to remove a connection

Integration connections can only be edited by the original creator. Removing a connection can affect multiple processes. Any process that uses this connection may need to be updated. Removing a connection cannot be undone.

  1. Open the menu in the top navigation bar, and select Admin.
  2. Select Integrations at the bottom of the page.
  3. Select the integration you wish to view.
  4. At the bottom of the page, select on a connection you wish to edit.
screen readers look here

Integration permissions

Integration connections can have permission rules that limit who can view or access them when building. By default, any team member can use a connection. If necessary, individual permission settings can be assigned per-connection.

screen readers look here
Individual permission settings affect all users, and specify which users, if any, have explicit permission to use the connection.

Only the original creator can access and edit a connection. Integration permissions do not affect who can edit the connection, it just specifies which users can explicitly view or use the connection when building. See integration permissions for more details.

Recommendations when setting up a new integration

Follow an integration guide during setup

Our integrations section has setup guides for many of our integrations; head there for step by step instructions on configuring an integration for the first time.

Use dedicated integration accounts to increase reliability

To connect Catalytic with another system, we recommend creating a dedicated user account in the external system instead of using an existing user鈥檚 account. Catalytic can then use that dedicated account to authenticate the integration.

The benefits of having a dedicated Catalytic integration account in the external system include:

  • Security: Ability to provision the user with the specific and limited permissions required for the integration.
  • Integration reliability: Avoid problems caused when a user鈥檚 password changes or account is deactivated
  • Audit trail: Track the changes made Catalytic without needing to separate them from a user鈥檚 usual updates to the application

This gives you greater control, reliability and security, as well as simplifying configuration, testing and support of the integration. If you can鈥檛 create a dedicated user exclusively for Catalytic, using a shared integration user is the next best alternative.

If you have questions about recommended best practices for a specific integration, contact Catalytic help.